Anxiety AF

Here we go, another blogger that has a sob story *sigh*. I know, I know, I’m over it too. But, like it or not, mental illness is ridiculously common, and today I’m going to talk about it.

Look guys – this is not a post I ever thought I would have to write, but my favourite (not) thing about struggling with Anxiety is that my last post said I would be writing twice a week…and I haven’t written anything since the middle of June. Oops.

Since I’ve accumulated quite a following on this blog, I felt I owed it to you to explain why I have been absent for so long, and maybe help some of you out there.

Basic background – I have had Anxiety for as long as I can remember. I’m currently on a low-dosage medication that helps me deal with it.

I’ve been absent for so long simply because I took on an extra job (meaning I had university and three jobs), plus I am constantly maintaining an extremely long distance relationship, a social life, university grades, eating healthy – ugh. I could go on. Basically, I’ve been busy as hell, and my mind has not thanked me for it. It’s not that I don’t enjoy being busy, I actually love it, but there were a few events in the midst of all that business that made it all the more stressful. An interstate trip. My dad getting remarried. Losing close friends. Writing a novel. It’s all just been… full on. Fucking full on.

I do really enjoy blogging, and I am going to do some posts on travel, wedding makeup and writing tips in the near future, but I’ve just not had the time or the energy. Unfortunately, my Anxiety has just gone haywire in the past few months and all I have wanted to do is curl up on my bed and watch YouTube videos.

Still, I feel like I’ve turned a bit of a corner, and I thought I’d do a short post telling you guys what helps me cope the most. If any of these tips help you, PLEASE let me know. Even if I just help one of you, it’s worth it (cliche, I know. Just go with it)

Things that help me:

-friends & family
Yeah, of course. Family & friends yada yada yada. But, seriously, having a small, close group of friends and family out there that accept you having a bad day makes all the difference. No one needs to feel like a burden or embarrassed for experiencing a mental illness. If your friends make you feel like shit about it, they need an adjustment. Seriously.

-emergency pack
This is one of my favourite things in terms of helping with my Anxiety. I have a small neoprene bag with lip balm, hand cream, hand sanitiser, panadol, headphones, pens, safety pins, hair ties, pads & tampons and a water mist. Literally I have everything I could ever need to help me get through any situation.

-music & videos
I have a whole heap of my favourite music and youtube videos downloaded onto my phone that I can watch/listen to if I’m in public feeling anxious. This really helps you to escape for 5 minutes, and get your breathing down

-meditation
I try and meditate a few times a week, and I use the app ‘Smiling Mind’. This makes my sleep better and the day after calmer. It’s also really easy to follow along!

-organisation
I have a planner that I always take 10 mintues every week to write in. When tests are, work shifts, Rent due dates, when to go shopping, dinners, etc. When I have everything planned out, I can see just how much time I have free to do what I want to do and I can fill my days with constructive things. For example, if I see I have an hour between classes, I can put down ‘blog’, so I can use that hour constructively. Also, I like to plan out my meals for the week, which saves money and time going shopping, as I do one big food shop of good, healthy food. This means I am not (always) snacking on chocolate.

Thank you all for reading, and I am so sorry that I’ve been gone for so long.

I love you guys!

Zoe xx

Image from: http://natmedhurst.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/water.jpg

Anxiety AF

Leave a Reply

