My Skincare Routine

Skincare is clearly a very personal thing – everyone’s skin is different. However, until about six months ago, I didn’t have a proper skincare routine at all, and I really suffered for it. I love learning about other people’s skincare routines, as it helped me to really solidify my own by trialling different types of products and finally discovering what works for me. I hope you enjoy this post!

For reference – I have normal/combination skin, but am prone to hormonal breakouts around my nose and chin.

The first step to ANY skincare is washing your face. I do this in the shower at night and quickly in the morning when I wake up. The thing that may surprise you is that I don’t actually use a face wash the majority of the time. Crazy, I know. I find that really rubbing my face with a well-grooved wash cloth really exfoliates and removes dirt and makeup without needing anything else, and I love that. This said, I use the Simple triple action spotless skin cleanser when my face is feeling extra filthy – around breakout times or after wearing lots of makeup.

11793352_957788350934518_178935761_n

To remove my makeup, either the reside after washing my face or at the end of the day if I don’t take a shower, I love micellar water. I’ve used both the Garnier one and the Simple one, but I much prefer the Simple one as it is much gentler on my eyes. I then apply an Acne treatment that is prescription only, called Clindatech. This is by far the only thing that ever works to keep my skin clear, but it is only prescription for those who really need it.

I use Clindatech twice a day, and always follow it up with a moisturising oil, of which my ride or die is the Shea beautifying oil by The Body Shop. I then use an eyecream – I’m not fussy about what, but I’ve been using a sample of the Kheils Creamy Avocado one, that I decanted into a sample pot by YSL so I can feel classy.

11933606_957788330934520_1735475356_n

About once a week I’ll do a facemask. I love the Pores Be Pure mud mask, but have also really been enjoying The Face Shop Blackhead Out White Clay Pack which is a supremely satisfying peel-mask.
11938189_957788337601186_1274126404_n

I hope this helped some of you out there! Thank you all so much for reading, and if you find me interesting, check me out on my instagram, twitter and even my tumblr!

x

My Skincare Routine

3 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

