How To: Organise your Life for the New Year

This time of year is so fun and festive, but, let’s be honest here, crazy. It’s so easy for us to get lost in a sea of good food, cocktails, presents and amazing times spent with friends and family, without taking into consideration that the New Year is fast approaching, and we should probably do some planning.

Now, I’m not talking about making New Years resolutions. I personally find that they never work for me and prefer to set constant goals, but if you want to do them, that’s great! And I wish you all the best of luck πŸ™‚ (There’s a post about that coming later) This post, however, will be all about time management, and making sure you don’t get swamped as soon as it hits January 1st.

*All of these tips have been recommended to me by professionals, and are tried and tested by yours truly*

  1. Buy a planner. Do it. It makes your life so much easier. I like to use highlighters to mark different occasions, such as birthdays, university assignments, outings, important appointments, etc. If you get into the habit of writing down what you need to do and checking your planner, it’s a hell of a lot harder to forget what’s necessary.

    20151214_120701
    Typo Diaries $20
  2. Use another planner. I like to use this style of planner to hang on my wall for weekly things that never change, such as my classes, clients for work, or weekly appointments.

    20151214_120141
    My tutoring clients and (usually) my university timetable live on my wall
  3. Do at least one thing per week that makes you happy. This is easier said than done, but I’m talking scheduling in a lunch date with a friend, a time to bake something, or a day to go shopping. Having something like this to look forward to will make your long weeks a lot smoother.

    20151214_120740.jpg
    Baking is one of my favourite things to do!
  4. Plan your meals. I’ve been doing this since I moved out of my mum’s, and it saves so much time and money, I can’t help but recommend it to everyone I know! You don’t even need a fancy planner like this one, but simply planning what you are going to be eating and knowing what you need to buy in one shop saves the 7pm “what’s for dinner” stress, and also saves you a lot of money. I also find that this really helps me to eat a variety of food, which is healthier than saying “screw this, I’ll just order McDonalds”. Yes, my neighbourhood delivers McDonalds. What a time to be alive.

    20151214_120633.jpg
    Planner from Typo
  5. Set aside a day or a few hours for housework. Personally, I really like doing housework, but I know I’m one of the few. Setting aside a time every week or fortnight is a great way of making sure your room or house is tidy, hygienic and a nice place to visit and live.
  6. Meditate & journal. I know this isn’t for everyone, but I love sitting down, every few nights, to clear my mind of all its scramble. I highly recommend the app “Smiling Mind” #notpaidtosaythat
    20151214_120445
    This journal is made from recycled paper and is from Tree of Life

    smilingmind.jpg

  7. If you like goal setting, having a vision board is a great way to inspire you. Or, making a sigil of your utmost wishes can also help to visualise what you want out of life. LaurDIY has great tips on how to do this kind of thing, and you can watch that video hereΒ πŸ™‚

I hope these tips have helped even just a little bit! Come chat on instagram, twitter and tumblr!

Love you all,

Zoe x

 

How To: Organise your Life for the New Year

Leave a Reply

