How To: Make Your Room Relaxing

Your room is your sanctuary. This applies to anyone, but more so if you still live at home and your room is where your entire life is stored and happens. Since I live with my best friend (and have for two years), I have been lucky enough to make my entire house a great place to live, but I’ll often have a ‘sorting my life out’ day, where I get my room back in order from the stresses of university/work/social life and I never fail to feel calmer in it. You want your room to be that one place that is separate from the drama of your everyday life, and is the place that you can relax and be yourself. Hopefully some of these ideas help you to do so πŸ™‚

  1. Candles. I mean, is anyone not going to mention this? If you don’t like candles themselves, opt for an oil burner with wither wax melts or essential oils, incense or a room diffuser. Scent makes a huge difference.
  2. Clean the fuck up. Your room needs to be tidy and hygienic for you to feel like your life is in order, and therefore, to be relaxed. This does not mean it needs to be spotless constantly, as that’s impossible for most of us. I just mean, set aside a few hours and tidy, dust, vacuum, and wipe down your vanity and desk. All it takes is the lack of dust for us to breathe easier and automatically feel more relaxed.
  3. Clean out clutter. Following on from number two, cleaning out unused clothes, books, games, stationary – anything – will instantly make you feel more accomplished and less cluttered in your mind. A lot of people probably need the things you’re going to give away.
  4. Use oldΒ fabric. I have a few bookshelves that I use for storing things like candles, hair tools, uni stuff and my printer, and those things I don’t particularly want to be displayed. So, I came up with the idea of using these bits of fabrics to cover them up, which are really pretty of course, but also add colour and softness to the room, which I really enjoy.
    asdfghju.jpg
  5. Put things on display that you enjoy. If your room makes you feel like it’s only full of things you don’t like, you need to change that. Grab what you love most, be it makeup, your perfumes, your books, clothes, etc, and put them on display. That way, when you see these things, you will automatically feel happier, and basically condition yourself to feel calmer in your room. Here’s how I store my perfumes alongside my memory board.

    20160110_173242.jpg

  6. Make your bed. I legit never used to do this, because I thought, what’s the point? And I totally understand that when you’re in school/uni, you just don’t have the time or the energy. I only really recommend this to people who spend a lot of time in their room/home, by studying, working or such, because when you finally do get into bed, you aren’t just rolling into it. There’s actually a distinction between waking and sleeping, so your room feels calm, but not tiring. Does that make any sense? Feel like I’m rambling here hahah
    20160110_173323.jpg
  7. Fairy lights. Fairy lights, like dΓ©cor and candles, change the mood of your room in a crazy way, and I love having mine on when I’m just chilling out, reading a book or listening to music.Β 20160110_173332.jpg
  8. A lot of people will tell you to make your bedroom a tech-free zone, but I certainly don’t have that option when my phone is my alarm, so I need it on my bedside table, and my desk is in my room. Therefore, I say try and ease back on the phone/computer like an hour before bed, so that you can distinguish the difference between awake time and sleep time.
  9. Music. Playing a simply youtube mix of classical/chill music will instantly change the mood of your room, and help you feel much more relaxed.

Thanks so much for reading!

Zoe x

How To: Make Your Room Relaxing

Leave a Reply

