Ten Ways To Spend Your Time

I am currently on university holidays (for the last time, I might add) and I cannot STAND it. There’s something about having such a vast span of blank time that makes me anxious. I can have a couple of days where I don’t get out of bed till late and just watch TV all day, but that’s my limit. I HAVE to have something to do each day, or I feel unproductive and lifeless. So, I have compiled a list of things to do when you’re bored/when you have free time/things you might want to consider doing anyway. This is not including work or school, simply the rest of your day. I hope someone finds this helpful!

  1. Be Creative

I love to write, to sketch and paint (although I’m awful at art) to help release some of those creative urges that get sucked away from you during the school semester. There is something so therapeutic about sitting and tapping away some fantastical story on your laptop, or spending an afternoon in the sun painting. You could also make music, films or try your hand at photography.

DSCF0459.JPG

 

2. Read

No matter what you like to read, anything new will bring you something you didn’t have before. Indulging in some crappy romance or absorbing yourself in ancient history books will always leave you thinking in a way you weren’t when you started.

DSCF0458.JPG

3. Film & TV

Films, TV and documentaries are so important when it comes to shaping who we are as people, so having the time to binge on things that interest us will always leave us much, much happier and inspired than we were when we started. My favourites have recently been Peaky Blinders and Mad Men.

4. Cleaning

This sounds mundane, but the sheer calm I feel after cleaning my flat is worth every bit of hard work. Lighting some candles after, arranging some flowers and arranging your decor helps you to feel more relaxed and organised. I take school holidays as a perfect time to do this, as when you get back into routine, everything will feel much more under control if your space is tidy. I’m going to do a whole blog post on deep cleaning πŸ™‚

5. Follow up on your work

If you’re at school, university or at work, there is always something you can do to improve your performance. Breaks are important too, that is obvious, but if you find that you can fit in some extra reading, early work or classes related to your studies and interests, when you return to your daily life you will be surprised how much easier it will become.

6. Bake Something

I am a firm believer that baking and cooking are good for the soul. Anything to do with your hands really helps your mind stay focused and active, and you get to eat the treats after.

DSCF0463.JPG

7. Spend time with loved ones

This sounds obvious, but it can become too easy to forget to see those who mean a lot to you. Rekindling old friendships, making new ones, or simply revisiting those constant people in your life that make you smile will always fill you with joy and purpose.

8. Get Outdoors

I am one of those people who will quite happily stand inside all day. However, I notice I feel much calmer when I take half an hour to walk around my block (and catch some Pokemon) or simply sitting outside with a cup of tea. Fresh air does wonders.

9. Get Nostalgic

Go through all your old books, toys and movies. Revisit what it was like to be you 20, 15, 10 or even 5 years ago. Appreciate how much you have changed and laugh at all your stupid choices. A look back can bring new things to the future.

DSCF0462.JPG

 

10. Learn a Skill

Following on from earlier, there is always something you can do to improve. However, this doesn’t necessarily need to be work related. Learning a language, a skill like calligraphy or sketching, becoming decent at taking photos, whatever it may be, will help you feel more successful. Set yourself a reasonable goal and work toward it.

DSCF0461.JPG

Zoe x

Come chat!

–instagram
–twitter
–tumblr

Ten Ways To Spend Your Time

3 thoughts on “Ten Ways To Spend Your Time

Leave a Reply

