How To: Clean Your Makeup Brushes

Washing your makeup brushes is a hassle – we all know it, and how often we actually clean them is something we probably don’t want to share. I am definitely guilty of saying “Oh, I only use that brush for bronzer! It doesn’t need to be washed!” However, it doesn’t work like that. We wash our faces at least once or twice a day, and are paranoid about it to stave off spots. If we really want to take that much care of our face, shouldn’t we be a bit concerned about putting dirty brushes on it everyday?

I recently discovered that the only way for me to consistently wash my brushes was by using two methods in conjunction: a dry, spot cleaning method and then, every two weeks or so, a decent water and soap wash. I hope this post helps you out (or at the very least reminds you to clean your brushes!)

Dry Method

I use a dry cleaner by Artiste that is so easy and cheap! It was around AU$15. I use this a couple of times a week on my face brushes to keep them nice and sterilised, and even when I’m doing a smokey eye or something that requires more brushes than I own – I can simply just spot clean and leave for a few minutes to dry!

DSCF0427.JPG

All I do is spray the solution (warning, it reeks of alcohol) onto a tissue or paper towel (paper towel works better with bigger/denser brushes as it’s thicker and doesn’t break up as easily) and just rub the dirty brush over the damp spot until the product stops coming out. It dries in minutes.

DSCF0429.JPG

DSCF0430.JPG

Soap and Water Method

I’m sure most of you have used this method before, and it’s definitely time consuming. My tips are to use a brush washer (I got mine from Forever 21 for like $3), because it’s far faster than using the palm of your hand. Of course, you can still do this, but this way is easier. The method is as follows; wet the brush in warm water, rub on some soap from a bar (hotel soap is great), lather it up against your hand/brush cleaner, and then rinse till the brush runs clear water.

DSCF0477.JPG

When drying, store the brushes slanted downwards so that the water doesn’t seep into the glue that is holding the hairs to the stick. I find that the soap method dries out my brush hairs, especially the natural hair ones, so I rub a (TEENY TINY) amount of canola oil through them to restore the shine and condition them. I do this when they’re dry, otherwise they take forever to dry out completely.

Zoe x

Come chat!

–instagram
–twitter
–tumblr

How To: Clean Your Makeup Brushes

8 thoughts on “How To: Clean Your Makeup Brushes

Leave a Reply

