My First Tattoo!

I have wanted a tattoo for a couple of years now, and knew that I wanted it on my left ribs, and it had to be something relating to an Earth. So, when the opportunity arose, I jumped at it. I was pretty nervous, but now I could not be happier!

Image-1

I went to a place in Drummoyne (North Sydney) called Black Chapel Tattoo, and my artist was Trish. I emailed her back and forth with a few ideas and we got it nailed down to an Earth, a sun and a moon. When I arrived, we worked on the designs a bit more, just to make sure they were exactly what I wanted.

My artist was great – making me laugh and being realistic about it all. She redrew my moon when I wanted it and put the designs on me and off again in temps just to make sure I was certain I loved the way it looked when I moved. We decided to keep it all linear (i.e. the countries on the globe were not to be coloured in), and the grid lines are in a very pale grey that will not look as intense as it is here thanks to the blood lines (not as dramatic as it sounds!).

IMG_0800.jpg

Once I was happy with it, we got to work. It didn’t take that long, maybe 25 minutes. In terms of pain, I’d rate it a 4/10. It stung, for sure, and the only way I can explain it is as if someone had a teeny little scalpel and was slicing me, but in a bearable way, as when she lifted the needle the pain evaporated. Occasionally, especially on the longer lines, I could feel it over my ribs and that damn hurt. When she was done, it hurt basically like sunburn (I flicked my bra over it by accident that night, and it just felt like really bad sunburn). For the most part though, I can’t feel it at all. I just am rubbing Bepanthem on it at nights and it’s totally fine!

The meaning behind it is all about my anxiety and personal ways of helping me cope with it. Also, it’s just fucking pretty! Don’t let anyone tell you that you need a reason for a tattoo – if you like it enough to want it to be a part of you, then do it.

IMG_9014.jpg

My family I don’t think are too thrilled (who’s are), but are supportive. When they see it in person, I’m sure they’ll come round as it really is a beautiful piece of art!

My experience was really fantastic, and the whole thing cost me $150, which I thought was pretty good! People say rib tatts kill, but honestly it was bearable. I didn’t cry at all, and just held my mates hand and scrunched my face up at the stinging bits. The only advice I can really give is, if you’re getting a rib tattoo, wear a bra that you don’t mind gets a bit of ink on it! Also, go with a friend if you can, because that just made the whole experience fun (especially when we went shopping after).

I hope you like it as much as I do!

Zoe x

Come chat!

–instagram
–twitter
–tumblr

 

My First Tattoo!

4 thoughts on “My First Tattoo!

Leave a Reply

