My Favourite Childhood Books

Feeling nostalgic isn’t something a lot of people love, but I really enjoy the good memories from my childhood. So, I thought I’d share my favourite childhood books to see if any of you had the same! A lot of these are classics, and could serve as good inspiration for gifts for baby showers or christenings. If you love old books like I do, you’ll get a kick out of this one. Who says kids books are just for kids?! Enjoy!

Enid Blyton

IMG_0619.JPG

I absolutely love Enid Blyton’s books as they are just so magical. These were my mum’s and I love to read them every now and then.

Fairy Tales

IMG_0620.JPG

I read fairy tales way more often than I’d like to admit. There is something so calming about them. I have been through this 700+ page book probably around 50 times and I can’t get enough. Some of the stories are so quirky and beautiful, I’ll never be too old for these.

Shirley Barber

IMG_0617.JPG

I absolutely adore Shirley Barber’s artwork, and if you’ve never heard of her, Google her. She is spectacular and the images she creates are just stunning. I can’t wait to pass these books onto my own kids some day.

Scholastic Book Fair Books

IMG_0621.JPG

Did anyone else live for the book fairs?! I had so many of these little box books but this is the one that’s lasted. I don’t really know why, I wouldn’t have ever said I was a real girly girl (I had a thing for magic though, you can probably tell lol) but reading it just makes me smile. I used to run around the place sprinkling dust and waving my wand!

Wizardology

IMG_0623.JPG

I think most people had one of these books, either this or Egyptology or Dragonology. You can still get them today and I think they’re just so cool!

Those Random Little Books…

IMG_0624.JPG

 

 

Most people have a collection of random little books like this don’t they? I know I have practically a whole shelf of them (I have a lot of books…) and every now and then it’s so fun to peek through them and relive what I used to love as a three or four year old. They’re so cute!

Harry Potter

 

This can’t be a childhood book post without mentioning Harry Potter. I breathed that shit in. I had my own wand, Harry Potter book bag with notebooks I had made, my own quill, cloak, broomstick, invisibility cloak, you name it. I have a read time turner, Marauders Map and Scarf. I even used to write my own versions of the Daily Prophet. Reading these books (or one of the many other Harry Potter related books I own) immediately transports me back to a lovely place.

 

If you liked this post I’d be more than happy to share some of my favourite childhood movies and games too! Let me know πŸ™‚

Here’s a bonus for making it to the end – me as a four year old!

image

Don’t forget to check out my posts over on My Trending Stories, as I share some of my creative pieces and other fun stuff! Your likes and follows over there mean the world. Read up here.

Zoe x

Come chat!

–instagramΒ (I’m almost at 200 followers!)
–twitter
–tumblr

My Favourite Childhood Books

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Childhood Books

  1. Love this and Harry Potter! My friend actually just had a baby shower where you were supposed to bring your favorite childhood book for the baby’s library. So, this was like a perfectly timed post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

