DIY Present Idea – Bath Bombs • Blogmas

Welcome to my Blogmas! I love Christmas so much, and the best way to celebrate is with Christmas related posts every day at 5pm WordPress time until the 25th! Hope you enjoy!

Today I’m starting my DIY presents series! A great gift regardless of age or gender is anything bath/spa related, so I thought I’d give making my own bath bombs a go!

A lot of recipes call for citric acid and cream of tartar, which I had neither of, so I experimented with a much simpler recipe. Of course, you can always add whatever to these bath bombs, like epsom salts or oils of your choice, but I’ve gone as simple as I possibly could! The recipe below I halved to make four big bath bombs, but could definitely have made eight little ones.

Ingredients

2 cups bicarbonate of soda
1 cup  baking soda
1 – 2 tbs canola, coconut or almond oil
food colouring
essential oils of your choice (I used lavendar, peppermint and vanilla)
water in a spray bottle
bits for inside the bath bomb, such as lavendar
silicone moulds – you could use ice cube trays, but I used silicone cupcake moulds

IMG_1459 (2).JPG

Method

Mix the dry ingredients and make sure they are all finely ground before adding your oil, food colouring and essential oils. Mix well, and then begin to add sprays of water and mix until you can indent the mixture and leave a shape. When this occurs, you are able to spoon the mixture into your moulds and add your extra bits. Leave to set, as they will go harder with time. Make sure you use within a couple of weeks or they will lose their fizz!

img_1461

The purple ones are lavendar scented with crushed lavendar within, the beige is vanilla and the green is peppermint!

I packaged them in cute tartan cupcake cases and stacked them in a cute jar. I think this worked well because it keeps them fresh and catches any crumbles that fall off.

img_1493

 

Merry Christmas, come chat!

instagram
twitter
tumblr

DIY Present Idea – Bath Bombs • Blogmas

Leave a Reply

