Dealing With A Split Family Over Christmas • Blogmas

Welcome to my Blogmas! I love Christmas so much, and the best way to celebrate is with Christmas related posts every day at 5pm WordPress time until the 25th! Hope you enjoy!

I come from a split family myself, and I have first-hand experience with how difficult it can be to please everyone during the holiday time. My own family split when I was around 16, so I’ve had a couple years to get used to travelling on Christmas day. Usually, it sucks. I have my mum’s family, my dad’s family, my step-mum’s family and my step-dad’s family (which include halves and steps of their own), so Christmas becomes a bit of a clusterfuck of where I’m going to be and who is going to be mad if they don’t see me. Honestly, I’m glad I don’t have a boyfriend right now to add to that! So, I thought I’d share my tips on dealing with the situation!

1.Say ‘fuck you’ to pressure

I myself and a lot of my friends in this situation find that pressure to be with certain people/in certain places/for a certain time is inescapable at this time. But to that I say a loud and wholehearted ‘fuck you’. You need to go to the places that make you happy and keep you sane over the silly season. Don’t just go to places because you ‘went there last year’ or because of family drama. Pick a place/places to be on Christmas and stick to it.

2. Be in a central location

If you are planning on travelling on Christmas Day, make sure that you have based yourself in a central place that makes travel time easier. Don’t expect to be able to travel 5 hours on Christmas Day and not be pissed that you lost all that time at the end of it. Plan in advance.

3. Try and be reasonable & flexible

Most of the time, our family misses us and that’s why they want to see us. Although I said before that you need to do what you need to do, make sure you aren’t blanketing things out. If it doesn’t hurt anyone, go and have breakfast here, lunch there, dinner in another place to see people you want to see. Remember Christmas Eve and Boxing Day are great times to see family as well. If both of your parents want to see you and you can physically get to both of them, try to. Being reasonable about it will only make the situation easier to handle.

Merry Christmas, come chat!

instagram
twitter
tumblr

Dealing With A Split Family Over Christmas • Blogmas

Leave a Reply

