Work Makeup Routine

I get up reasonably early for work, so I have needed to streamline my makeup routine. I can’t sit around, playing with eyeshadows and deciding whether I should wear blush (note to self: ALWAYS wear blush, you want to look alive), so I’ve come up with a fast and easy routine that makes me look fresh and put together, but without being too much for a 9 hour work day in front of a computer (sometimes longer)

One of my top tips is to have it all packed the night before so it’s ready to go in the morning. I switch around the products I use a few times a week, depending on the day, what I’m wearing etc, but will always have an entire face of makeup in my makeup bag for me to use in the morning. I’m telling you – this is a LIFESAVER.

IMG_2364

I start with a clear primer, I’ve been using the ELF Acne fighting primer for a while now and it’s really good. Whatever you choose has to depend on your skin though, and how long you plan to wear the makeup for. My skin holds onto makeup reasonably well, so I can get away with a primer like this.

I then colour correct with NYX Colour Corrector, then use a beauty blender to buff no more than 4 half drops of NYX Total Control foundation on my face. I like to use concealer more than foundation, so I’ll then go under my eyes with something like the Smashbox BB concealer, and then around my nose and on discolourations with Essence Camouflage Concealer.

Cream products last longer, so I take the Be A Bombshell cream blush stick in Southern Belle on my cheeks, then set it all down with ELF HD Setting Powder (ELF needs to sponsor me real bad). Of course, you can always set your face with a setting spray to make it last longer, but I find for a regular day I’m okay with just powder.

To warm up my skin a bit, I use a bronzer like Hoola by Benefit, then highlight my high points with Smashbox Spotlight Highlighting Palette in Turn it On.

To define my face, I’ll run a bit of ABH Brow Wiz through my brows, then tightline my eyes with Chi Chi Eyeliner in Bronze Ambition. For long days, I’ll use a liquid eyeliner and so a small flick – my favorite for this is Kat Von D Tattoo Lockit Liner. I’ll top off with Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara.

I rarely wear lipstick to work as it just comes off, and liquid lipstick is too uncomfortable for the day to day. I’ll run a bit of lip liner around my lips (Rimmel make a great nude one) and just apply lip balm.

This takes me about 5 minutes total and I’m good to go!

IMG_2362.JPG

IMG_2361

 

Hope you enjoyed!

Zoe x

Come chat!

–instagram
–pinterest
–twitter
–tumblr

Work Makeup Routine

Leave a Reply

